Rules about port use

Full Port Use (DEFAULT)

 If the computer will let you make the 4:1, 3:1, or 2:1 port trade, go for it.

Port “Block”/Pirate

When the robber is on a hex adjacent to a 3:1 or a 2:1 port, the player on the port cannot use that port until the robber is moved. If the player is on two 3:1 ports, blocking one does not block the other. Example: robber placed on hex touching the wheat port. Player with settlement on wheat port cannnot convert wheat at 2:1, but can at 3:1 only if they have a 3:1 port; otherwise, conversion must be done at a 4:1 rate. Mayfair calls this variant “Pirate”, but Port Block is much simpler.

Canary

Players may not convert 4:1 for a resource that they “own” a hex of. For example, if Player A is on Wood, Wheat, Ore, and Sheep, he may convert 4:1 for Clay, but NOT the other 4 resources. If Player A has a 2:1 or 3:1 port, he may convert to any resource, but must use that resource on that turn if he has a hex of that resource. If he does not have a hex of that resource, he may save it. This variant is named for the people of the Canary Islands, who will not trade for goods they themselves produce.

Advertisements



%d bloggers like this: