Rules about robbing

Full Rob (DEFAULT) 

When rolling a 7 or playing a knight, you can place the knight anywhere and steal from whomever.

RR/Reverse Robber

When rolling a 7 or playing a knight, you have to put the robber on an empty hex or one that is yours exclusively. If that is not possible, then you have to put the robber on one of your shared hexes, which allows you to make a legal steal. Before placing the robber on a shared hex, ask your opponents if you are “forced?” or “f?”. They will confirm whether or not you indeed are forced to rob someone else. If you break this rule, you must immediately trade back the resource lost due to your failure — do not attempt to use the resource.

RR7/Reverse Robber on 7 

When rolling a 7, you have to put the robber on an empty hex or one that is yours exclusively. If that is not possible, then you have to put the robber on one of your shared hexes, which allows you to make a legal steal. If you break this rule, you must immediately trade back the resource lost due to your failure — do not attempt to use the resource.  You may place the robber anywhere using a soldier or knight card, and steal at will.

Note: RR7/4

is an ancillary variant. Knights may not be used against any player with fewer than 4 points. This is to allow players to get established before Full Robber rules come into play. Soldiers may be placed on a hex shared by players with under 4 points and 4 points and above, but the resource must be stolen from the player who has at least four points.

RRK/Reverse Robber on Knights 

When playing a knight, you have to put the robber on an empty hex or one that is yours exclusively. If that is not possible, then you have to put the robber on one of your shared hexes, which allows you to make a legal steal. If you break this rule, you must immediately trade back the resource lost due to your failure — do not attempt to use the resource.  You may place the robber anywhere on a 7 and steal at will.

Wandering Robber

Robber must be moved to any adjacent hex. Can move any direction and keep toggling back and forth for a while, but the landing hex must touch the previous hex. If you break this rule, you must immediately trade back the resource lost due to your failure — do not attempt to use the resource.

Consecutive Robber

Robber must be moved on 7s and knights to the next higher number. (i.e., starts on desert, moves to 2, moves to 3, moves to 4, etc. After 12, it moves back to the desert and starts over again).

7-K+/7 backwards, Knights forward

On a 7, you must steal from the person who rolls before you (so green would rob pink, pink robs blue, etc.) On a knight, you must steal from the person who rolls after you (so green would rob yellow, etc.). You can place it on a shared hex, but the appropriate target must be stolen from. If the appropriate target is out of resources, you must still place it on one of their hexes, but can legally steal the resource from elsewhere. If you break this rule, you must immediately trade back the resource lost due to your failure — do not attempt to use the resource.

ROL/Robber on Leader

 On a Knight or a 7, the Robber must be placed on the leader (based on showing points, not VPs) and the leader must be stolen from. The hex selected may be a shared hex. If there is a tie, robber must be placed as with Reverse Robber. When playing the a knight that would give you Largest Army, those two points count BEFORE the placement. Leader must place robber on self, even if there is an open hex. If the leader is forced to rob, they may keep the resource.

2/12

On the roll of a 2 or a 12, the diceholder selects another player to rob of all resources held, and indicates what the player gets in return. If player A rolls a 2, and player B has 10 resources, player A states “Player B Sheep”. Player B initiates a trade of the 10 resources for the one sheep. If Player A has no resources on the 2/12, and does not have a knight/mono/year of plenty to play, they miss the opportunity. The diceholder must realize they’ve rolled a 2/12. Opponents and audience members should not alert the diceroller to having rolled a 2/12. If the diceroller passes the dice and doesn’t take advantage of the 2/12 – better luck next time.

Note: Extreme 2/12 is an ancillary variant. Rolling a 2/12 entitles the roller to the resources from the three other players instead of just the one.

Advertisements



%d bloggers like this: